• Accredited by NAAC
  • birparacollege@gmail.com 


The college was founded in 1986 to provide higher education to the underprivileged from different linguistic communities living in a border area.

Our Founders
Prof. N. Bose, Higher Education Minister, Sri N. Bhattacharjee, Irrigation and Waterways Minister, Sri B. Roy, State Minister for Tribal Welfare, Government of West Bengal, and Prof. D.B. Dutta, Vice-Chancellor, University of North Bengal, and district administration joined hands with other education-loving people of the area to establish a degree college in Birpara. The Manager of Birpara Tea Garden donated 10 acres of the estate’s land for the institution. The then Head Master of Birpara High School, Abhay Charan Kundu, was selected as the first Working President of Birpara College Organizing Committee by the people of the area on 21st August, 1986. Thus the dream of the people for establishing a degree college at Birpara came to life.

Help from Well-wishers
The Organising Committee collected donations from the Tea Garden Management, local businessmen and common people. Among the organisations and people who extended help for the construction of the college buildings, special mention must be made of the Dooars Branch Indian Tea Association (DBITA), Sri A.P. Roy, son of Sri S.P. Roy, industrialist, Sri Pradip Prashad, brick field owner and other eminent personalities.
The college administration would also like to acknowledge the assistance provided by the University Grants Commission, the State Government through its Border Area Development Programme and the Panchayat Samiti, and financial aid through the Backward Area Development and MPLAD funds. The late Manik Bhattacharjee, Sahakari Sabhadhipati, Jalpaiguri Zilla Parishad, was the first President of the Ad-hoc Governing Body of the college. Local personality Sri Motilal Bardhan was the first President of the Statutory Governing Body. Sri Amit Kumar Chakrabarty shouldered the responsibility of the first Lecturer-in-Charge of the college. Dr.Haralal Saha was the first Principal.
The University of North Bengal granted permanent affiliation to the college with effect from the 1991-92 academic session.

Get In Touch With Us