• birparacollege@gmail.com 

About Our College

Birpara College is a grant-in-aid, co-educational, undergraduate degree college located in Birpara town in the district of Alipurduar, West Bengal and affiliated to the University of North Bengal (NBU).

Our Mission
The professed mission of the college is contained in its motto, “Sa vidya ya vimuktaye” (“education is that which emancipates people”).

Our Aims and Objectives
The college is located in the intersection of three rural blocks where the population includes people from the SC, ST, OBC categories. The primary objective of the college is to cater to their need for higher education.

UGC Recognition
The college enjoys UGC recognition under 12B and 2(f) since 1993. In 2016, the college was assessed and accredited by NAAC.

Progress Since Inception
Birpara College was established as a commerce college offering B.Com. (General) with English and Bengali as language subjects in 1986. Following increase in student enrolment and acknowledging their demand, the University of North Bengal (NBU) approved Accountancy (Honours) in 2000. By then, the college was also offering courses in humanities. In 1995, NBU had given the college sanction for starting B.A. (General) courses with the Economics, Sociology and Geography as the elective subjects. The introduction of the humanities resulted in manifold increase in the number of students and since then the college has got approval for seven Honours subjects—namely, Geography (2001), Bengali (2003), Sociology (2005), History and Nepali (both in 2009), English (2017) and Political Science (2020)—and six elective subjects: History (2003), Nepali (2005), Political Science (2009), Education and Hindi (both in 2012), and Physical Education (2017). B.Sc. (Program) course with Computer Science, Mathematics and Physics as the subjects was introduced as a self-financed course in 2017.

Future Plans
The college authorities still feel the need for introducing certain job-oriented courses as well as some other popular subjects for the benefit of the students.

Vision, Priority and Thrust
Click to view details

Get In Touch With Us